SOME GUY ON THE INTERNET
presents...
ORBA: ROLEPLAYING GAME SYSTEM

Another questionable thing by Robert Aronson, vespinfeebler at gmail dot com
 

Chapter 4
Using Techs


The first part of this section assumes that the Status Effects option is not being used.

Techs are used during attacks. They might allow a combatant to harm the defender with an additional -1 Focus.

An attacking player can declare at any time during an attack that they desire to use a Tech, even before they or the defender have rolled.

When a combatant uses a Tech, they roll 1d6 to see if the Tech was successful. They must roll a certain number or higher. The minimum number they need to roll depends on the rank of the Tech:

Tech
Rank
0
1
2
3
4
Need to Roll
(or higher)
5
4
3
2
automatic success

Upon a success the Tech removes 1 FP immediately from the target. If the target's FP drops to 0 the attack is immediately over and the enemy is defeated.

Each Tech can only be used twice per battle, and only once per attack. When attempted, a Tech use is used up even if it doesn't succeed in doing any harm.

The Aggression Zone does not affect Tech use.


If you're using the optional War Forms rules, then Attack Form grades are not considered when using Techs.


If you're using the Status Effects option, then upon a success the attack Tech's negative Effects are also inflicted upon the target (assuming there is no further roll for the Tech to succeed).

Effects begin on the target's first turn after being inflicted, and end at the beginning of their next turn. (This assumes a duration of 1 turn. If the duration is longer, then the Effect lasts through the target's final turn in the duration.)

Use special tokens beside a combatant to measure how many turns they're inflicted with an Effect.

 

© Copyright by Robert Aronson, all rights reserved